2018 Teachers of the Year


SBISD 2018 Teachers of the Year

Heather Bothe

Heather Bothe

An elementary school librarian and a high school journalism and yearbook instructor were named as Spring Branch ISD’s Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year for 2018. Librarian Heather Bothe of Frostwood Elementary School and Memorial High’s Holly Hartman, who teaches journalism and oversees both a student newspaper and yearbook, are 2018’s top district educators.

Elementary Teacher of the Year Heather Bothe, a 19-year Texas educator, has been the librarian at Frostwood Elementary for the past two years. She has also worked in Houston ISD, and was a Stewart Title coordinator in her early career.

Bothe earned a bachelor of business administration degree from Texas Tech University in Lubbock and later earned alternative certification through the University of St. Thomas. She was awarded a master’s degree in library science from Sam Houston State University in Huntsville in 2017.

Holly Hartman

Holly Hartman

Hartman, a 23-year Texas educator, has taught 12 years at Memorial High School. She wears several instructional hats, teaching journalism and also serving as student newspaper and yearbook adviser. In addition to Memorial High and Spring Branch Middle, Hartman served as education director for one year at the Holocaust Museum Houston.

She has also taught in the Hayes and Burnet Consolidated ISDs. She earned a bachelor of science degree in speech communications at the University of Texas at Austin. She also received certifications in elementary education and language arts, English as a Second Language (ESL) and in journalism.

During its history, SBISD has had four teachers named regional and Texas Teachers of the Year. Many more district educators have been recognized as regional-level finalists or have won separate awards and honors. Campus Teacher of the Year candidates are first nominated by the district’s students, parents, teachers and interested community members. More than 1,400 individual nominations were received this year. In all, 871 teachers were nominated.

SBISD Teachers of the Year are selected by SBISD stakeholders based on the following criteria:

  • Concern for all staff and students and the ability to inspire both of these groups
  • Ability and willingness to work cooperatively with all staff and administrators
  • Proven drive to initiate and implement effective strategies supporting continuous improvement in student performance
  • Ability to work with diverse community groups and all district stakeholders
  • Proven desire for continuous personal and professional growth
  • Ability and willingness to make meaningful contributions to education