Athletics News

Employees, community members honored at January board of trustees meeting

The Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees honored SBISD employees and community members for their various achievements at the Jan. 24, 2022, regular board meeting.

#IAMSBISD awards


The IAMSBISD award is a special designation of honor for employees who go above and beyond in support of one or more of SBISD’s five Core Values: Every Child, Collective Greatness, Collaborative Spirit, Limitless Curiosity and Moral Compass.

IAMSBISD awards were given to 13 members of the SBISD family who demonstrated their selflessness and care for our families last month after an apartment fire that impacted several SBISD families. These AMAZING individuals swiftly jumped into action to help in any way they could:

Lesli Brown – Instructional Facilitator, Spring Oaks Middle School
Cristal Cervantes – Communities in Schools (CIS), Spring Oaks Middle School
Jennifer Collier – Principal, Spring Woods High School
Mary Lou Davalos - Principal, Spring Oaks Middle School
Bestaida Island – CIS, Westwood Elementary
Jason Jones – Community Youth Services
Kay Kennard – Principal, Westwood Elementary
Ebony McKeever – Social worker @ KIPP Landrum Middle School
Angelique Moulton – Assistant Principal, Westwood Elementary
Veronica Perez – Community Youth Services
Mary Pizana – SBISD Community Engagement
Cece Thompson- Spring Branch Education Foundation
Arcie Valdez – CIS, Westwood Elementary

Betty Ann Taylor recognized as Governor's Lifetime Volunteer Achievement Award winner

Beth Ann Taylor

In SBISD, we believe volunteers play a critical role in the success of Every Child. Recently, a long-time SBISD volunteer, Betty Ann Taylor, was honored with the prestigious 2021 Lifetime Volunteer Achievement Award for the 38th annual Governor's Volunteer Awards.

Ms. Taylor has been a volunteer and great partner to SBISD for more than 24 years and has served in many capacities, including being a longstanding member of SBISD’s Volunteer Advisory Board and leading a program through Chapelwood United Methodist Church through which Ms. Taylor has provided resources to more than 3,600 families in the Spring Branch community.

The Governor’s Volunteer Awards offers statewide recognition to diverse ways Texans give back with their time and talents. This annual volunteer recognition program culminates in a special ceremony at the Texas Governor’s Mansion this spring.

Bendwood School teacher Molly Nipper recognized as recipient of The Sharon Elaine Saunders Endowed Scholarship in Graduate Education from Houston Baptist University

Molly Nipper

Molly Nipper, a STEM teacher at Bendwood School, was recently selected as one of eight recipients of The Sharon Elaine Saunders Endowed Scholarship in Graduate Education for 2021. The Guild of Houston Baptist University offers these endowed scholarships annually to outstanding students in their graduate education programs.

Earlier this year, she was also announced as one of two teachers in Houston to win the Houston Museum of Natural Science - Wilhelmina C. Robertson Excellence in Science or Mathematics Teaching Award.

Ms. Nipper prides herself on her inquiry-based approach to classroom learning and use of differentiated instructional methods. When asked what motivates her, she said, “I do what I do because of my students. Putting the Core Value of Every Child into my work is not difficult when Every Child is why I teach.”

Paige Hershey, SBISD Executive Director of Athletics, recognized as recipient of a 2021 Citation Award from the National Federation of State High School Associations

Paige Hershey

Paige Hershey, SBISD Executive Director of Athletics, received a standing ovation as she was recognized for receiving a Citation from The National Federation of State High School Associations. These awards recognize contributions to interscholastic athletics at the local, state and national levels.

At the 52nd annual National Athletic Directors Conference in December, Ms. Hershey was recognized as a 2021 Citation recipient for her 30-plus-year contributions as a teacher, coach and athletics administrator.

Superintendent Jennifer Blaine recognized as a National School Public Relations Association 2021 Superintendent to Watch honoree

Jennifer Blaine

Annually, the National School Public Relations Association recognizes up to 25 superintendents as "Superintendents to Watch." These leaders have fewer than five years of experience in their roles and are using communication technology in innovative, effective ways.

Honorees demonstrate dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication at the core.

Dr. Blaine was one of only 19 superintendents nationwide to achieve this distinction in 2021.

SBISD Board of Trustees honored during School Board Appreciation Month

Board Appreciation Month

Each January, School Board Appreciation Month gives us the chance to celebrate our board of trustees and allows us to shine light on the selfless work trustees do on behalf of Every Child, as well as the entire SBISD Family.

Several presentations were held in honor of the seven trustees, including:

  • Student "Thank You" video
  • Proclamation reading from Harris County Precinct 4 Commissioner Jack Cagle’s office
  • Performance by the Memorial High School Varsity Treble Choir
  • Presentation of art from Memorial Middle School students Sammy Folloder and Truitt Maberry.