The School Zone: News



Forty-nine Spring Branch ISD students enrolled in prekindergarten through 12th grade were honored as Character Without Question Award recipients during a recent public recognition event for the students and their families held at Northbrook High School.

This year’s annual award presentation was held during the Feb. 25 Board of Trustees monthly meeting. The unique and special event for students of all ages attracted many family members.
The district Character Without Question Award honors students who exhibit a variety of character traits as defined by local policy of the SBISD Board of Trustees. 
Student award recipients are selected based on their enduring commitment to the following traits: honesty and integrity, responsibility and dependability, respect, perseverance and effort, courage, caring and kindness, and citizenship and civic virtue.
SBISD’s five Core Values serve as guiding principles and framework that should inform the actions, behaviors and decisions of staff, students, community and partners. Student honorees are considered “The Best of the Best” in living out these Core Values, which include the following: Every Child; Collective Greatness; Collaborative Spirit; Limitless Curiosity; and Moral Compass.
“You are receiving this award because of the outstanding character and positive actions you have demonstrated to your teachers and fellow students,” SBISD Superintendent of Schools Scott R. Muri, Ed.D., said in prepared remarks.
“According to them, you are responsible citizens who show respect, caring and kindness to everyone and are always ready to ‘do the right thing’ in all situations. You truly make a difference in your school, your community, and in the lives of others,” Dr. Muri also said.

As a part of this year’s event, all student award winners received the famous Dr. Seuss classic, Oh, The Places You’ll Go!, as well as a framed personal photograph.

A longtime organizer and planner with the Character Without Question Awards event, Pat Waldrop in SBISD’s Community Relations Dept., was also recognized publicly. She plans to retire soon. 
Waldrop was the school counselor when a first-year event was held at Northbrook High, and that campus character award winner was Claudia Meza, who today is a teacher and Vanguard instructor at Westwood Elementary.
The student awards presentation program and pre-event reception are supported by Wells Fargo and the Spring Branch Education Foundation.
Additional support is also provided by Northbrook High School, the district’s Social and Emotional Learning/Character Education Liaisons, Events for All Seasons, LLC and by Lion Marketing Catering at Landrum Middle School.

SBISD Community Relations Specialist Katie Redd and Paul Bryant with SBISD Communications provided event planning and publication support.

2019 Award Recipients

Schools for Early Learning (Prekindergarten)
Bear Boulevard – Lorenzo Roman
Lion Lane – Brianna Camarillo
Panda Path – Isabella Archundia Segundo
Tiger Trail – Renata Rendon Perez
Wildcat Way – Addison Rakoczy
Elementary Campuses 
Buffalo Creek – Amy Mireles, 5th Grade
Bunker Hill – Cash Porter, 5th 
Cedar Brook – Frank Miranda, 5th
Edgewood – Ashton Cormier, 5th 
Frostwood – Katherine Hayes, 5th 
Hollibrook – Diego Samuel Gonzalez Urbina, 5th 
Housman – Carmyn Gonzalez, 5th 
Hunters Creek – Elliott Wagner, 5th 
Meadow Wood – London Rankin, 5th 
Memorial Drive – Grant Huthnance, 5th 
Nottingham – Sarvesh Anand, 5th 
Pine Shadows – Miah Nava-Alexander, 3rd  
Ridgecrest – Ivonne Covarrubias, 4th  
Rummel Creek – Jake Baker, 5th 
Shadow Oaks – Deven Jagassar, 5th 
Sherwood – Fiona Calinog, 5th 
Spring Branch Academic Institute – Zoe Ju, 5th 
Spring Branch – Yelena Sosa Rodriguez, 4th 
Spring Shadows – Samantha Navarro, 5th 
Terrace – Avery Meyers, 3rd 
Thornwood – Brianna Johnson, 4th 
Treasure Forest – Mairyn Lopez, 5th 
Valley Oaks – Sophie Nguyen, 5th 
Westwood – Rhiannon Crawford, 5th 
Wilchester – Aaron Wu, 5th 
Woodview – Jocelyn Gutierrez, 5th 
Middle School Campuses
Cornerstone Academy – Mia Pancioli, 8th 
Landrum Middle – Angie Romero Bondswell, 7th 
Memorial Middle – William Logan Smith, 8th 
Northbrook Middle – Edwyn Gonzalez, 8th
Phoenix Academy – Gabriel De Souza, 7th
Spring Branch Academic Institute – Katrina Kasyan, 8th 
Spring Branch Middle – Elizabeth Martinez, 8th 
Spring Forest Middle – Giancarlo Chelala, 8th 
Spring Oaks Middle – Victoria Garcia, 8th 
Spring Woods Middle – Stacy de Leon, 8th 
Westchester Academy – Victoria Perez, 7th 
High School Campuses
Academy of Choice – Nick Morales, 11th Grade
Guthrie Center for Excellence – Joseph Cruz, 11th 
Memorial High – Rishab Jagetia, 11th 
Northbrook High – Julieta Munoz Esparza, 12th 
Spring Woods High – Catrina Pardo, 11th 
Stratford High – Cullen Hannigan, 12th 
Westchester Academy – Amy Blanco, 12th