The School Zone: News

Teacher of the Year - Spring Branch ISD

Spring Branch ISD schools have named 48 elementary and secondary educators as their annual campus Teacher of the Year winners and nominees for district honors.

This year, campus staff, students, parents and community members submitted 1,721 separate nominations; 859 SBISD educators in all were nominated for the top-level professional recognition.

SBISD’s campus candidates will now apply for recognition as the district’s 2021 district Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year. If chosen for this annual award, both teacher candidates qualify to compete at regional, and hopefully, the state and national Teacher of the Year competitions.

District winners are also awarded a cash prize and $2,000 professional growth stipend, as well as an award through the Going the Extra Mile recognition provided from Sterling McCall Cadillac.

In the weeks ahead, the district’s Teacher of the Year Committee will review campus-based nomination materials and then committee members will vote in March to select three elementary and three secondary finalists.

In early April, the committee will conduct interviews with the six finalists to select SBISD’s two 2021 Teachers of the Year.

As top district winners, this year’s winning educators will receive a trophy-style Golden Apple award, as well as several other awards and recognitions, including a cash prize funded by the First Community Credit Union.

During recent history, SBISD has had four teachers named as regional and then state Teachers of the Year. Other district educators have been named regional-level finalist candidates or earned a variety of separate regional, state and national awards.

SBISD 2021 Campus Teachers of the Year:


The Bear Boulevard School for Early Learning, Christina Pea
The Lion Lane School for Early Learning, Melissa Cody
The Panda Path School for Early Learning, Omayra Hernandez
The Tiger Trail School for Early Learning, Shelby Berger
The Wildcat Way School for Early Learning, Lindsay Bryan

Elementary Schools

Bendwood School, Delyar Pace
Buffalo Creek Elementary, Nancy Mejia
Bunker Hill Elementary, Margaret Van Horn
Cedar Brook Elementary, Debbie Agudelo-Garza
Edgewood Elementary, Hope Shiver
Frostwood Elementary, Megan Hogg
Hollibrook Elementary, Ana Mercado Garcia
Housman Elementary, Angela Ayala
Hunters Creek Elementary, Kayla Gibson
Meadow Wood Elementary, Amy Pierce
Memorial Drive Elementary, Clarissa Sekimoto
Nottingham Elementary, Amy Blanchard
Pine Shadows Elementary, Lorena Palacio-Ward
Ridgecrest Elementary, Susan Rinon
Rummel Creek Elementary, Michelle Perkins
Shadow Oaks Elementary, Olivia Schindler
Sherwood Elementary, Dana Wade
Spring Branch Elementary, Norma Cabrera
Spring Shadows Elementary, Blanca Barron
Terrace Elementary, Laura Miller
Thornwood Elementary, Susan Nguyen
Treasure Forest Elementary, Alexander Laue
Valley Oaks Elementary, Nicole Pavlicek
Westwood Elementary, Rosa Leon
Wilchester Elementary, Brandy Boza
Woodview Elementary, Patricia Aguirre

Secondary Schools

Academy of Choice, Raymond Karlowicz
Cornerstone Academy, Astrid Rodriguez
District Alternative Education Program (DAEP), Dawn Dixon
Guthrie Center for Excellence, Xavier Martinez
Landrum Middle School, Eva Zapata
Memorial High School, Shelby Slay
Memorial Middle School, Brandon Jantzen
Northbrook High School, Valarie Nappier
Northbrook Middle School, Jonathan Arbelo
Spring Branch Academic Institute-High School, Catherine Wood-Sponsel
Spring Branch Middle School, Joan Cullum
Spring Forest Middle School, Rashida Aikens
Spring Oaks Middle School, Alejandro Romo
Spring Woods High School, Elizabeth Cruz
Spring Woods Middle School, Regina Cooper
Stratford High School, Laura Fuller
Westchester Academy for International Studies, Donne Fe Barrios