Spring Branch ISD Featured News

35 future educators receive letters of intent through SBISD’s Grow Our Own program


SBISD's Grow Our Own Educators from SBISD on Vimeo.


Spring Branch ISD is turning today’s students into tomorrow’s teachers through the district Grow Our Own program. Designed to build a sustainable pipeline of future educators, the program is under the Career and Technical Education (CTE) Education and Training pathway. Students in the program take classes in education, learn best practices, and complete internships alongside experienced teachers in district classrooms.

“Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity,” said Northbrook High School’s Corina Zamora when asked what she wanted her mentor teacher to hear about her experience in the program. “I felt really great.” 

On April 20, during a formal celebration including family and friends, SBISD extended 35 letters of intent to students completing the Grow Our Own program this year. Each letter represents a commitment to hiring the student as a teacher in the district upon completion of a college degree program and teacher certification.

In addition to friends and family, teacher mentors from each of the high schools, Superintendent Dr. Jennifer Blaine, Associate Superintendent of Administration and Talent Karen Heeth, Associate Superintendent of Academics Kristin Craft, Executive Director of Talent Allison Tennyson and Career and Technical Education Director Christina Rice-Imumwen were in attendance to cheer on these future SBISD educators.

“I’ve grown up in this community and seen the people that want to learn,” said Zamora. “I want to be a part of that."

Students in the program complete coursework on the principles of education and training, human growth and development and instructional practices as well as a practicum on education and training.

“My students really want to have an impact. They want to come back and serve,” said Allison Smith, Education and Training Teacher at Spring Woods High School. “They see the value of doing that. It’s an honor to be able to encourage them.”

Congratulations to these future educators!

Memorial High School: 

  • Grace Davitte
  • Vincent Ferruzzo
  • Alexandra France
  • Carsyn Moore
  • Sydney Newcomer
  • Madison Peterson
  • Katherine Pounds
  • Reese Venghaus

Northbrook High School: 

  • Desieray Alvarez
  • Emily Arellano
  • Edna Colunga
  • Andrew Gomez Mora
  • Itzel Muniz
  • Isabela Perez
  • Adriana Quintero
  • Isabell Reyes
  • Adrian Robles
  • Alejandra Rodarte Guzman
  • Grace Tellez
  • Ashley Yepez Garay
  • Karina Zamora

Spring Woods High School: 

  • Karisha Cosme
  • Lisette Garcia
  • Daisy Hernandez
  • Betzabet Mendoza
  • Diana Quevedo
  • Janet Villegas

Stratford High School: 

  • Cristina Amado Cobo
  • Audrey Clayton
  • Meredith Daulton
  • Camille Gagnon
  • Miah Hopkins-Morrison
  • Dayra Machado Larios
  • Lily Morrow
  • Margaret Venghaus

View the full album of the celebration!