The School Zone: News

Memorial High School Varsity Treble Choir

Note: Group photograph taken prior to COVID-19 face mask and social distancing requirements.


Organizers with the annual Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) convention have picked the Memorial High School Varsity Treble Choir to perform virtually via recorded broadcast during TMEA’s conference in early 2021. 

The huge annual conference – drawing up to 30,000 attendees in regular setting – is usually held in San Antonio during February, but will meet in a virtual form and setting due to COVID-19 concerns.

For Memorial High Director of Choirs Lawrence Johnson and the all-female treble choir, TMEA’s invitation to record and perform virtually is equivalent to being selected as a state champion in athletics.

As many as 150 elementary, middle, high school and college choirs from across Texas submit initial recordings each year. A panel of judges invites only about a dozen choir groups to perform at the TMEA gathering.

“This is a great honor for the Memorial High School choral program and we are proud to represent our community and all SBISD in the 2020-2021 school year,” Johnson said.

Under his direction in recent years, Memorial High choirs have gained increased recognition, ranging from multiple All-State Choir student recognitions to top UIL awards for solo and group performances.

The 40-member Varsity Treble Choir (see photograph above and student names below) recorded the winning MHS submission. Eleven returning members will record with the choir for the conference; many past members have graduated.

Varsity Treble Choir members listed left to right (photograph above):

Back Row-Lydia Bryant, Alex Papin, Emily Read, Lauren Haley, Anna Calderon, Maisa Syed, Laura Carrasco, Reece Wilkinson, Sydnie Eberle, Diona Evers, Aimee Thun, My-Lien Dang, Angela Choi, Gaby Hernandez-Velez, Connie Lee, Sarah Lootens, Erin Sucec, Bethany Lisman, Lucia Caranti

Middle Row-Crystal Wang, Victoria Grimaldo, Elena Sucec, Amelia Zhang, Mina Azad, Sophia Trifilio, Ava Galuzzi, Avery Garrett, Amber Otillar, Elizabeth Lee, Seya Mathilakath, Sally Achraf

Front Row-Elisabeth Rodriguez, Iyari Lutz, Sydney McElhoe, Audrey Moore, Sabine Waldron, Laura Fields, Payton Hill, Taylor O’Hara, Charlotte Fairfield

For more information on the Texas Music Educators Association, please visit:

  • CollectiveGreatness