Spring Branch ISD Featured News

New Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees members sworn in, officers elected




Two new Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees members were sworn in, and the board elected new officers when trustees met Tuesday evening to canvass results from the Saturday, May 6 board of trustees election. A canvass verifies that votes were correctly counted during the election.

On May 6, Courtney Anderson was elected to the Position 1 seat on the board and Shannon Mahan was elected to the Position 2 seat. Each board member serves a three-year term.

Anderson is a Memorial High School alumna and earned a bachelor’s degree in applied learning and development from the University of Texas at Austin. She taught in Alief ISD for nine years and has been the president of two SBISD PTAs, served on the SBISD School Finance Advocacy Team and completed the Lead SBISD program. Anderson is also an active volunteer in her community. 

“I am honored to serve on the SBISD Board of Trustees,” said Anderson. “I look forward to supporting the students, parents, teachers and administration of SBISD.”  

Mahan was a speech language pathologist at Bunker Hill Elementary for 12 years. She earned a bachelor’s degree in communication sciences and disorders from Baylor University and a master’s degree from the University of Texas at Dallas. Mahan has continued to be active in the SBISD community as the secretary of the SBISD Council of PTAs and a member of the Campus Improvement teams for her daughters’ schools.  

“I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to serve our amazing district in this capacity,” said Mahan. “SBISD is a wonderfully unique community that is well known for doing what is best for all of our children. I am fully committed to the success of our students, as well as supporting our teachers and parents."

Family, friends and supporters joined the new trustees at the May 16 ceremony. Board members welcomed and congratulated the new trustees.

The SBISD Board of Trustees also elects new officers annually after new members are sworn in.

Trustee Chris Earnest was elected to continue his service as president. He has served on the board since 2021 and has been president since 2022. Trustee Lisa Andrews Alpe was elected vice president for the second year, and Caroline Bennett was newly elected as secretary.

View photos from this event.