Spring Branch ISD Featured News

New Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees officers elected, new members sworn in, passage of 2022 Bond confirmed


Three new members of the Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees were sworn in, and the board elected new officers when trustees met Tuesday evening to canvass results from the Saturday, May 7 board of trustees and bond election. A canvass verifies that votes were correctly counted during the election.

On May 7, Lisa Andrews Alpe was elected to the Position 5 seat on the board, John Perez was elected to the Position 6 seat and Caroline H. Bennett was elected to the Position 7 seat. Each board member serves a three-year term.

Alpe, Perez and Bennett were sworn in on Tuesday, May 17. Board members welcomed the new trustees and pledged to work together for the benefit of Every Child.

The new trustees were joined at the ceremony by family, friends and supporters.

The Board of Trustees also elects new officers annually after new members are sworn in.

Trustee Chris Earnest was elected president. He has served on the board since 2021. First-year trustee Lisa Andrews Alpe was elected vice president, and John Perez, also a first-year trustee, was elected secretary.

The $381.6 million bond referendum (Propositions A & B), also canvassed during the meeting, was approved by SBISD voters with 73 percent of the vote. The 2022 Bond program responds to the commitment made as part of the 2017 Bond Program to develop the vision for a world-class Career and Technical Education (CTE) program and the facility improvements needed to move toward that vision.

View photos from this event.