Spring Branch ISD Featured News

SBEF celebrates scholarship recipients and Teachers and Principals of the Year during Bright Stars of Spring Branch ISD event


On Thursday, May 12, Spring Branch Education Foundation (SBEF) hosted Bright Stars of Spring Branch ISD, an annual event that celebrates scholarship recipients, as well as Teachers and Principals of the Year, at The Westin Houston, Memorial City. 

“This is the most rewarding event of the year,” said Cece Thompson, SBEF executive director. “We work very hard all year, but all our efforts are rewarded when we see our students, teachers and principals being recognized.” 

This year, SBEF had a record number of scholarships, awarding a total of $290,000 to 205 students. 

Scholarship donors were invited to attend and celebrate alongside the students. 

SBISD Teachers and Principals of the Year received swag bags that included HEB and Amazon gift cards, umbrellas and water bottles, among other items. 

“SBEF is committed to helping students achieve educational excellence,” added Thompson. “Through this event, we provide students with the tools to succeed and celebrate the teachers and principals that make it all possible.” 

2021-2022 SBISD Teachers of the Year: 


  • Bear Blvd. School for Early Learning, Astrid Perez De Da Silva
  • Lion Lane School for Early Learning, Zaragosa Estrada
  • Panda Path School for Early Learning, Sarah Morris
  • Tiger Trail School for Early Learning, Jose Cavazos
  • Wildcat Way School for Early Learning, Melinda Cox

Elementary Schools:

  • Bendwood School, Alice Briggs
  • Buffalo Creek Elementary, Elda Mejia
  • Bunker Hill Elementary, Claire Hemphill
  • Cedar Brook Elementary, Svitlana Arroyo
  • Edgewood Elementary, Tylyn Davidek
  • Frostwood Elementary, Jill Nelson
  • Hollibrook Elementary, Montserrat Botello
  • Housman Elementary, Miguel Guevara
  • Hunters Creek Elementary, Chandler Elliott
  • Meadow Wood Elementary, Kate Zuelke
  • Memorial Drive Elementary, Anne-Louise Smalling
  • Nottingham Elementary, Catherine Janda
  • Pine Shadows Elementary, Tiffany Klier
  • Ridgecrest Elementary, Lorenza Garay
  • Rummel Creek Elementary, Marnie Justiss
  • Shadow Oaks Elementary, Melisande Nestor
  • Sherwood Elementary, Carmen Cordova Rolon
  • Spring Branch Elementary, Kayleigh Mccormac
  • Spring Shadows Elementary, Marta Bran Lozano
  • Terrace Elementary, Rosa Jones
  • Thornwood Elementary, Noor Kachmar
  • Treasure Forest Elementary, Allison Koopmann
  • Valley Oaks Elementary, Meagan Busby
  • Westwood Elementary, Halam Tran
  • Wilchester Elementary, Maureen Mccarthy
  • Woodview Elementary, Elizabeth Vatterott

Middle Schools:

  • Cornerstone Academy, Jessica Hennig
  • Landrum Middle School, Manuel Benavidez
  • Memorial Middle School, Julie Wilhelm
  • Northbrook Middle School, Jonathan Arbelo
  • Spring Branch Academic Institute (SBAI), Cassondra Hayes
  • Spring Branch Middle School, Akeem Perkins
  • Spring Forest Middle School, Sadie Neilson
  • Spring Oaks Middle School, Vanessa Miranda
  • Spring Woods Middle School, Stephanie Wilson
  • Westchester Academy for International Studies (WAIS), Kelsey Cline

High Schools: 

  • Academy of Choice, Vicki Bevan
  • District Alternative Education Program (DAEP), Ricardo Concepcion
  • Guthrie Center, Nakhestcia Franklin
  • Memorial High School, Lindley Amarantos
  • Northbrook High School, Pablo Victor
  • Spring Woods High School, Jeremy Kiesler
  • Stratford High School, Sara Russo

2021-2022 SBISD Principals of the Year: 


  • Lynne Barry, Meadow Wood Elementary 


  • Mary Lou Davalos, Spring Oaks Middle School 

About Spring Branch Education Foundation (SBEF):
Spring Branch Education Foundation is committed to supporting SBISD students and educators. It partners with the district and community to fund programs that enhance education and prepare students for the future.

View the full album of the celebration.