The School Zone: News

When its annual Bright Stars of SBISD, Celebrating Academic Excellence event was cancelled due to COVID-19, Spring Branch Education Foundation (SBEF) chose to honor Teachers and Principals of the Year for the 2019-20 school year in another way.

“Our teachers and principals are indeed SBISD’s Bright Stars, and we couldn’t let the academic year pass without letting them know how much we appreciate them,” said Cece Thompson, SBEF executive director. “Though social distancing doesn’t allow us to give them a hug, members of our board wrote each of them a personal thank you note, and we enclosed a $300 Target gift card. It’s a small token compared to what they do for our students.”

Principals of the Year are nominated by their peers and demonstrate a concern for all students and staff. They work cooperatively with staff, administrators and diverse community groups. Teachers of the Year are selected for similar characteristics, including creativity in their teaching careers.


SBISD 2020 Teachers of the Year:


The Bear Boulevard School for Early Learning, Andy Ruelas
The Lion Lane School for Early Learning, Maria Bracho
The Panda Path School for Early Learning, Sheila Del Campo Torres
The Tiger Trail School for Early Learning, Arianna Acosta
The Wildcat Way School for Early Learning, Madelyn April
Elementary Schools

Bendwood School, Iain Pace
Buffalo Creek Elementary, Alma Romero
Bunker Hill Elementary, Tammie Handy
Cedar Brook Elementary, Courtney Roberts
Edgewood Elementary, Sandra Solis
Frostwood Elementary, Marcos Venegas
Hollibrook Elementary, Ana Mendoza
Housman Elementary, Kimberly Muske
Hunters Creek Elementary, Cassandra Schaps
Meadow Wood Elementary, Katie McCracken
Memorial Drive Elementary, Andrea Gilmore
Nottingham Elementary, Sarah Chu
Pine Shadows Elementary, Carmen Pena
Ridgecrest Elementary, Michelle Nguyen
Rummel Creek Elementary, Pamela House
Shadow Oaks Elementary, Cristina Espinoza
Sherwood Elementary, Shenna Deveza

Spring Branch Academic Institute-Elementary School, Kristi Dina
Spring Branch Elementary, Carmen Rodriguez
Spring Shadows Elementary, Jessica Meza
Terrace Elementary, Sarah Curry
Thornwood Elementary, Leigh Bagwell
Treasure Forest Elementary, Erin Dahman
Valley Oaks Elementary, Allison Colvard
Westwood Elementary, Larry Shudra
Wilchester Elementary, Kristie Shankles
Woodview Elementary, Claire Rottino
Secondary Schools

Academy of Choice, Amy Fenwick
Cornerstone Academy, Mara Heidemann
District Alternative Education Program (DAEP), Letonya Taylor
Guthrie Center for Excellence, Yolanda Matthews-Porter
Landrum Middle School, Amanda Houston
Memorial High School, Christo Amarantos
Memorial Middle School, Allison Kohtz
Northbrook High School, Jason Campbell
Northbrook Middle School, Alice Reyes
Spring Branch Middle School, Kate Waldorf
Spring Forest Middle School, Rebecca Mustachio
Spring Oaks Middle School, Nicholas Hoey
Spring Woods High School, Jose Razo
Spring Woods Middle School, Tiffany Blackwell
Stratford High School, Crystal Fain
Westchester Academy for International Studies, Jackie Phillips, Susan Kneppler

2020 Principals of the Year

Elementary Principal of the Year – April Falcon-Blanco, Terrace Elementary School

Secondary Principal of the Year – Jennifer Collier, Spring Woods High School

About Spring Branch Education Foundation:

Spring Branch Education Foundation is committed to supporting SBISD students and educators. It partners with the district and community to fund programs that enhance education and ̅students for the future. In 2016, Caruthers Institute ranked SBEF 42nd in the nation among 188 K-12 education foundations and in the top 10 of its division of foundations with $1 million to $1,999,999 in revenues. Since 1993, the Foundation has donated more than $15 million to the district. SBEF is a 501(c)3 organization; all donations are tax deductible.