The School Zone: News


Each year, Spring Branch Education Foundation honors Spring Branch ISD Teachers and Principals of the Year at its Bright Stars of SBISD, Celebrating Academic Excellence event.

For the second year, the celebration was cancelled due to social distancing requirements, so SBEF honored the recipients via a virtual presentation, which is available for view on YouTube at

“Our teachers and principals are indeed SBISD’s Bright Stars, and we couldn’t let the academic year pass without letting them know how much we appreciate them,” said Cece Thompson, SBEF executive director. 

Laura Minyard, chair of the Bright Stars event, said the Foundation and community honored the teachers and principals in a big way. “Each recipient received a $300 gift card from SBEF. We’re so thankful for the community, which provided some exciting raffle items. Michelle and Jeff Majewski, longtime supporters of SBEF, donated a Dell Chromebook, wireless headphones and Amazon Echo Buds. We also gave away a spa basket from Hand and Stone and Bora Bora Salon, beautiful matching jewelry sets from Kendra Scott, and dinners at Taste of Texas and Jonathan’s the Rub.” 

Principals of the Year are nominated by their peers and demonstrate a concern for all students and staff. They work cooperatively with staff, administrators and diverse community groups. Teachers of the Year are selected for similar characteristics, including creativity in their teaching careers.

SBISD 2021 Teachers of the Year:


The Bear Boulevard School for Early Learning, Christina Pea

The Lion Lane School for Early Learning, Melissa Cody

The Panda Path School for Early Learning, Omayra Hernandez

The Tiger Trail School for Early Learning, Shelby Berger

The Wildcat Way School for Early Learning, Lindsay Bryan
Elementary Schools

Bendwood School, Delyar Pace

Buffalo Creek Elementary, Nancy Mejia

Bunker Hill Elementary, Margaret Van Horn

Cedar Brook Elementary, Debbie Agudelo-Garza

Edgewood Elementary, Hope Shiver

Frostwood Elementary, Megan Hogg

Hollibrook Elementary, Ana Mercado Garcia

Housman Elementary, Angela Ayala

Hunters Creek Elementary, Kayla Gibson ** Elementary Teacher of the Year **

Meadow Wood Elementary, Amy Pierce

Memorial Drive Elementary, Clarissa Sekimoto

Nottingham Elementary, Amy Blanchard

Pine Shadows Elementary, Lorena Palacio-Ward

Ridgecrest Elementary, Susan Rinon

Rummel Creek Elementary, Michelle Perkins

Shadow Oaks Elementary, Olivia Schindler

Sherwood Elementary, Dana Wade

Spring Branch Elementary, Norma Cabrera

Spring Shadows Elementary, Blanca Barron

Terrace Elementary, Laura Miller

Thornwood Elementary, Susan Nguyen

Treasure Forest Elementary, Alexander Laue

Valley Oaks Elementary, Nicole Pavlicek

Westwood Elementary, Rosa Leon

Wilchester Elementary, Brandy Boza

Woodview Elementary, Patricia Aguirre

 Secondary Schools

Academy of Choice, Raymond Karlowicz

Cornerstone Academy, Astrid Rodriguez

District Alternative Education Program, Dawn Dixon

Guthrie Center for Excellence, Xavier Martinez

Landrum Middle School, Eva Zapata

Memorial High School, Shelby Slay

Memorial Middle School, Brandon Jantzen

Northbrook High School, Valarie Nappier

Northbrook Middle School, Jonathan Arbelo

Spring Branch Academic Institute, Katie Wood-Sponsel **Secondary Teacher of the Year **

Spring Branch Middle School, Joan Cullum

Spring Forest Middle School, Rashida Aikens

Spring Oaks Middle School, Alejandro Romo

Spring Woods High School, Elizabeth Cruz

Spring Woods Middle School, Regina Cooper

Stratford High School, Laura Fuller

Westchester Academy for International Studies, Donne Fe Barrios

2021 Principals of the Year

Elementary Principal of the Year, Anabel Taylor, Hollibrook Elementary

Secondary Principal of the Year, Raymorris Barnes, Stratford High School

About Spring Branch Education Foundation:

Spring Branch Education Foundation is committed to supporting SBISD students and educators. It partners with the district and community to fund programs that enhance education and ̅students for the future. In 2016, Caruthers Institute ranked SBEF 42nd in the nation among 188 K-12 education foundations and in the top 10 of its division of foundations with $1 million to $1,999,999 in revenues. Since 1993, the Foundation has donated more than $15 million to the district. SBEF is a 501(c)3 organization; all donations are tax deductible.