Spring Branch ISD Featured News

SBISD's 2023-24 Character Without Question Winners


Spring Branch ISD (SBISD) recognized 48 Character Without Question award recipients during the SBISD Board of Trustees meeting on Tuesday, Feb. 26. The award, which was established 19 years ago, honors students who demonstrate their outstanding character through positive actions. 

“We are excited to honor an incredible group of students who exemplify what it means to uphold SBISD’s Core Characteristics of a T-2-4 Ready Graduate,” said SBISD Superintendent Jennifer Blaine. “Character Without Question is a great time to celebrate not just the student, but their families and school community for supporting them. We are delighted to see how these students continue to watch these students grow, learn and thrive!”

Winning students exemplify SBISD’s Core Characteristics of a T-2-4 Ready Graduate: 

  • Academically Prepared 
  • Ethical & Service-minded 
  • Empathetic & Self-aware 
  • Persistent & Adaptable 
  • Resourceful Problem-solver 
  • Communicator & Collaborator 

The students were nominated by their teachers, counselors, school administrators or other students. Character Without Question award recipients were selected after meeting with a panel of campus staff. 

“I feel like it's a great honor to be the Character Without Question winner for Cornerstone Academy,” said Cornerstone Academy Honoree Emely Hurtado Salgado. “It means that many people believe in me, trust me, respect me and how I respect others and how they can trust me. It’s a great honor that all my teachers, my friends and even the front office chose me as their Character Without Question winner.”   

Prior to the award ceremony students and their families gathered for a celebratory reception. Principals, teachers and counselors also attended to celebrate the student representing their campus. 

“We are super excited to be here with Nathan,” said Spring Shadows Elementary Principal Aylin Martinez. “Nathan is an example of a student that goes above and beyond, that has great character. In the classroom with other kids, he gets along with everyone and is always looking out for others, so we’re excited to be here honoring him tonight!”

All student award winners received a framed recognition. SBISD thanks longtime program sponsor the Spring Branch Education Foundation for their support of this program and our students. 

2023-24 Character Without Question Award Winners 

Schools for Early Learning (pre-K)        

  • The Bear Blvd - Matthew Chique Vilorio
  • The Lion Lane - Paula Gasperin
  • The Panda Path - Matthew Avila Trujillo
  • The Tiger Trail - Gerardo Parra
  • The Wildcat Way - Jyzelle Alvarado

Elementary Schools

  • Buffalo Creek Elementary - Amairany Zelaya
  • Bunker Hill Elementary - Camilla Mejia
  • Cedar Brook Elementary - Eric Cuellar
  • Edgewood Elementary - Helena Garcia
  • Frostwood Elementary - Colette Childs
  • Hollibrook Elementary - Anthony Ruiz
  • Housman Elementary - Scarlett Hernandez
  • Hunters Creek Elementary - Rachael Moreno
  • Meadow Wood Elementary - Rodina Saleh
  • Memorial Drive Elementary - Baker Bechtol
  • Nottingham Elementary - Sawyer Davidson
  • Pine Shadows Elementary - Mario Castillo Alvarado
  • Ridgecrest Elementary - Jaxson Cabrera
  • Rummel Creek Elementary - Ashley Drum
  • Shadow Oaks Elementary - Robert Santeliz
  • Sherwood Elementary - Stella Aguilar
  • Spring Branch Academic Institute - Elementary - Natale San Lucas
  • Spring Branch Elementary - Youali Ramirez
  • Spring Shadows Elementary - Nathan Gonzalez
  • Terrace Elementary - Denisse Garcia
  • Thornwood Elementary - Zahra Noor
  • Treasure Forest Elementary - Joshua Gonzalez
  • Valley Oaks Elementary - Sadie Martin
  • Westwood Elementary - Eveline Franco
  • Wilchester Elementary - Ruth Powell
  • Woodview Elementary - Andrea Cayama Rivera

Middle Schools

  • Cornerstone Academy - Emely Hurtado Salgado
  • Landrum Middle School - Kelly Espirikueta
  • Memorial Middle - Atticus Rigo
  • Northbrook Middle - Jonathan Izaguirre
  • Spring Branch Academic Institute (Middle) - George Robinson
  • Spring Branch Middle - Mason Lopez
  • Spring Forest Middle - Khamari Thomas-Mitchell
  • Spring Oaks Middle - Lesly Contreras Larios
  • Spring Woods Middle - Luis Salazar Martinez
  • Westchester Academy (Middle) - Sophia Guevara Torres

High Schools

  • Guthrie Center - Tatum Marye
  • Memorial High - Abdulkhamid Alsaati
  • Northbrook High - Sarahi Alamilla
  • Spring Branch Academic Institute (High) - Caroline Larrabee
  • Spring Woods High - Lily Nipper
  • Stratford High - Tyrone Rucker
  • Westchester Academy (High) - Mariana Barcenas Aguillon  

Congratulations to all award recipients, we are #SBISDProud of you!

View a full album of the celebration!