The School Zone: News

Spring Branch Education Foundation

Spring Branch ISD graduates receive $174,900

Spring Branch Education Foundation (SBEF) awarded 122 scholarships to Spring Branch Independent School District seniors—a total of $174,900.

“The Foundation’s scholarship committee members are always impressed with the stories reflected in the scholarship applications we receive,” said Cece Thompson, SBEF executive director. “Many of our recipients will be the first in their families to attend college or a career-training program.

“We take a holistic approach to awarding scholarships. We look at personal qualities, school and community involvement, family life and academics. Our honorees include students up and down class rankings, campus and community volunteers and English language learners. These scholarships are a vote of confidence as graduates take their next educational step.”

Throughout the school year, Spring Branch ISD staff members contribute to the SBEF Employee Campaign, funding scholarships for SBISD graduates who are children of district employees. In August 2019, employees were asked to contribute to SBEF’s 2019-20 Employee Campaign scholarship fund. They eagerly responded.

“The response was so great we awarded a $1,250 scholarship to 36 graduates. We’re honored to recognize SBISD employees and their children,” Thompson said.

SBEF Employee Campaign Scholarship

Academy of Choice – Elise Parisian

Memorial High School – Taylor Dixon, John Grimes, Isabelle Hardie, John Iler, Rushil Mehta, Celeste Nadarasa

Northbrook High School – Leslie Calderon, Alondra Duenas, Lesly Ochoa, Adrian Vazquez

Spring Woods High School – Nicolas Alonzo, Erick Costilla, Luis Covarrubias, Imani Davenport, Leroy Ferguson, Claire Fournier, Haven Harlow, Austin Payne, Andrea Ramirez, Jorge Sapon

Stratford High School – Emily Bishop, Emma Brown, Jorge Coscio, Dylan Dunavin, Elizabeth Grizzell, Liam Jones, Elise Latiolais, Katherine Latiolais, Carolina Rincon, Sophie Stoeger, John Suerth, Matthew Weaver

Westchester Academy for International Studies – Jack Morrow, Abigail Pomeroy, Audrey Smith

Other scholarships were presented to SBISD graduates by individuals or organizations, funded through SBEF.

Warren Barfield Memorial Scholarship

Jasmine Mohamed, Dan Tatulescu – Stratford High School

Andres Bautista Memorial Scholarship

Leslie Lux, Jonathan Romero – Northbrook High School

Bunker Hill Elementary PTA Leave a Legacy Scholarship

Evan Pruett – Memorial High School

Cedar Brook Elementary PTA Scholarship

George Lovett – Memorial High School

Sarah Chidgey Memorial Scholarship

Josef Cobb – Stratford High School

Don Coleman Scholarship

Grace Lee – Memorial High School

Robert Eckert – Stratford High School

Niloofar Madanizadeh – Westchester Academy

Cornerstone Academy PTA Scholarship

Youanni Gamarras Zambrano – Northbrook High School

Council of PTAs Scholarship

Audrey Crawford – Stratford High School

Benjamin Cuellar Memorial Scholarship

Connor Padron – Stratford High School

Melvin Eldridge Scholarship

Parker Beck – Memorial High School

The Ferworn Scholarship

Isabel An, Emerrie Patterson – Memorial High School

Friends Scholarship

Nadia Camacho – Academy of Choice

Friends Scholarship in Memory of Alfred Zustovich

Maria Garcia Pedraza – Northbrook High School

Chris Gilbert Scholarship

Melissa Rupley – Stratford High School

Goldstein-Altman Scholarship

Daniel Lim, Elizabeth Valicek – Memorial High School

Housman Mustangs Scholarship

Zachary Tomaski – Memorial High School

Hunters Creek Elementary PTA Scholarship

Elizabeth Tietz – Memorial High School

Lions Club Scholarship

Monica Palacios – Northbrook High School

Meadow Wood Elementary PTA Scholarship

Maha Almasri, Katherine Whelen – Stratford High School

Memorial Drive Elementary PTA Scholarship

Annabel Shen – Memorial High School

Memorial High School PTA Scholarship

Madeline Klam, Claire Maxwell – Memorial High School

Memorial Middle School PTA Scholarship

Andrew Qin – Memorial High School

Memorial Middle School PTA Scholarship in Honor of Lynn Greenhill

Ruka Adachi – Memorial High School

Memorial Middle School PTA Scholarship in Memory of Colin Nobles

Scott Fonseka, Spencer Frederickson – Memorial High School

Moms of Boys Scholarship

Lauren Kmiecik – Spring Woods High School

David Mouton – Stratford High School

Monica Neubauer Memorial Scholarship

Sarah Adams, Sophia Grenkin – Memorial High School

Rachel Pendray Memorial Scholarship

Yeini Rico, Caroline Sparks, Summer Strohbehn – Spring Woods High School

Prosperity Bank Scholarship

Melanie Roldan – Northbrook High School

Luis Jaime Rosales Scholarship

Olivia Du, Payton Hill, Joseph Park – Memorial High School

Sara Garcia, Tania Guzman, Rosemary Lozano, Tania Moreira, Jazmin Zuniga – Northbrook High School

Tran Banh, Katherine Bates, McKenna Tanner – Stratford High School

Royal Oaks Garden Club Scholarship

Vaniah Barrera – Spring Woods High School

Rummel Creek Elementary PTA Scholarship

Noah Czelusta – Memorial High School

Madeleine Dawson – Stratford High School

Rummel Creek Men’s Club Scholarship

Ethan Nguyen, Ashley Smelley – Memorial High School

Terri Sharp Memorial Scholarship

Isabelle Nuzzo – Memorial High School

Sherwood Elementary PTA Scholarship

Samuel Lopez – Spring Woods High School

Spring Branch Education Foundation Scholarship

Blakeley Buckingham, Walter Denny – Memorial High School

Jennifer Octaviano Jimenez – Northbrook High School

Daniela Ameijeiras Mena, Hope Sage, Hannah Timmreck – Stratford High School

Spring Forest Middle School PTA Scholarship

Tiani Chen-Troester – Stratford High School

Spring Woods High School Alumni Scholarship

Anakaren Negrete – Spring Woods High School

Stratford High School Alumni Scholarship

Daniela Perez – Stratford High School

Stratford High School Class of 1978 Alumni Scholarship

Michael Goolsby – Stratford High School

Stratford High School PTSA Scholarship

Evelyn Gomez – Northbrook High School

Eman Ahmed – Stratford High School

Judy Weisend Memorial Scholarship

Grant Farrow – Memorial High School

Wells Fargo Scholarship

Evelyn Gutierrez – Northbrook High School

Westchester Alumni Association, Inc. Scholarship

Vanessa Lopez Coutino, Joseph Cruz, Jessica Gutierrez de le Paz, John Miller, Madison Phan – Westchester Academy

Westchester Academy of International Studies PTA Scholarship

Isabella Sherrard – Westchester Academy

Wilchester Elementary PTA Scholarship

Evan Roberts – Stratford High School

Wilchester Men’s Club Scholarship

Brooks Ballard, Caroline Bruce, Rachel Cole, Ellie DiPaola, Matthew Howell – Stratford High School

Leila Madanizadeh – Westchester Academy

Community members who wish to support scholarship programs are invited to make a tax-deductible donation to the Foundation and earmark it for scholarships. Call 713-251-2381 or visit for more information.

About Spring Branch Education Foundation:

Spring Branch Education Foundation is committed to supporting SBISD students and educators. It partners with the district and community to fund programs that enhance education and ̅prepare students for the future. In 2016, Caruthers Institute ranked SBEF 42nd in the nation among 188 K-12 education foundations and in the top 10 of its division of foundations with $1 million to $1,999,999 in revenues. Since 1993, the Foundation has donated more than $15 million to the district. SBEF is a 501(c)3 organization; all donations are tax deductible.