Spring Branch ISD Featured News

Spring Branch ISD earns state’s top financial management rating for 20th consecutive year

Report to be Presented at School Board Meeting Monday

A report to be unveiled Monday night shows Spring Branch ISD has earned the state’s top rating for school district financial management for the 20th consecutive year.

The report on this year’s School Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas (FIRST) will be released during a public hearing at the 7 p.m. Monday, Oct. 18, meeting of the Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees. The board will meet at district headquarters, 955 Campbell Road in Houston.

SBISD earned the “Superior Achievement” rating after scoring 98 out of a possible 100 points on the scale that measures financial accountability at school districts. FIRST was designed to encourage Texas school districts to better manage their financial resources, and it uses 20 financial indicators to measure the quality of financial management.

The board also will consider a new partnership with the City of Bunker Hill Village to build an underground detention pond on the Bunker Hill Elementary School site to help reduce flooding in the community during severe weather events. The dry pond would be built by SBISD and paid for by Bunker Hill Village.

At the 7 p.m. meeting the board will recognize and honor Pine Shadows Elementary School Principal Chris Winstead, who recently was given the Houston Achievement Place’s 2021 Pathlighter award for her four decades of teaching and public school administration.

A special meeting of the board also is scheduled for Monday at 6 p.m. At the special meeting, the board will discuss, among other things, the superintendent’s evaluation, but the board will not take action on the evaluation Monday.

The board also will, at the 7 p.m. regular meeting, honor Spring Branch ISD National Merit Semifinalists and students from College Board’s African American, Hispanic and Indigenous Recognition Programs. Here are the students who will be honored:

2021-2022 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

  • Angela Alvarado (WAIS)
  • Sophie Czelusta (MHS)
  • Cameron Donley (SHS)
  • Victoria Gong (MHS)
  • Megan Guy (SHS)
  • Ahmad Hadidi (MHS)
  • Stephen Kang (MHS)
  • Avantika Matele (MHS)
  • Delaney Polocheck (MHS)
  • Chloe Pruett (MHS)
  • Joowon Seok (MHS)
  • Lena Sugg (MHS)
  • Lane VanderVoort (MHS)
  • Lauren Wall (MHS)
  • Caden Wang (SHS)
  • John Weatherly III (SHS)
  • Daniel Xu (MHS)
  • Alex Yoon (MHS)
  • Alex Zhang (SBAI)

2021-2022 National Hispanic Recognition Scholars

From Northbrook High School: Celeste Cabrales and Edwyn Gonzalez Mendoza.

From Yes Prep at Northbrook High School: Luis Calderon, Daira Calixto, Brithany Flores, Eduardo Lopez, Emily Romero, and Jennifer Silva.

From Spring Woods High School: Kenny Corin, Sara Garcia, Alan Gonzalez, Paul Gonzalez, Sebastian Guevara, Israel Itzep, Brandon Julian Gonzalez, Christopher Lopez, Ana Martinez, Shelsey Ramirez, Kevin Villalobos.

African American Designated Scholars:

  • Treasure Mulkey
  • Lotachuckwu Nwaukwa
  • William Patton
  • Bria Singh

Indigenous Designated Scholars:

  • Alec Ruiz
  • Marshall Williams
  • Kevin Villalobos

Hispanic/Latino Designated Scholars:

  • Isabel Acevedo
  • Jasmine Aguilar
  • Wyatt Behan
  • Garrett Blanton
  • Alexander Canedo
  • Aleksy Cavazos
  • Daniela Contreras
  • Mitchell DeAyala
  • Natalia Diaz
  • Paula Diaz Faccini
  • Marco Ferrier
  • Patricia Freytes
  • Jordan Heath
  • Isabel Heckler
  • Marissa Hines
  • Caroline Holub
  • Leila Ibrahim
  • Isabel Jakobsen
  • Dylan Jones
  • Alexander Kelly
  • Gabriela Lyle
  • Mia Mancheski
  • Isabella Mendoza
  • Oscar Morales
  • Antonio Noyola
  • Madelyn Olive
  • Cecilia Rizo-Patron
  • Alec Ruiz
  • Jeronimo Ruiz-Ocampo
  • Ashley Salazar-Martinez
  • Ethan Schutt
  • Anissa Settipalli
  • Madeline Stieglitz
  • Morgan Valdivieso
  • Michelle Venegas Torres
  • Julia Williams
  • Caroline Zaleski
  • Ryan Zaragoza