Spring Branch ISD Featured News

Spring Branch ISD employees and community honored

The Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees recently honored employees and student groups for various achievements and accolades during its April 26 regular meeting.

IAMSBISD Award: Jonathan Avila and Violanda Garcia, Melissa Wiland and Abby Walker

The IAMSBISD award is a special designation of honor for employees who go above and beyond in support of one or more of our five Core Values- Every Child, Collective Greatness, Collaborative Spirit, Limitless Curiosity and Moral Compass.

At the April 26 regular meeting, Spring Branch Middle School (SBMS) student Jonathan Avila and bus driver Violanda Garcia were recognized with the IAMSBISD Award. Recently, they put their Moral Compass into action to come to the aid of a student having a medical emergency on the school bus.

Avila is the first-ever student to be honored with an IAMSBISD Award.

Trustees also recognized two members of the Communications and Community Engagement team with an IAMSBISD Award.

Coordinator for Strategic Partnerships & Volunteer Programs Abby Walker and Assistant Director for Creative Services & Marketing Melissa Wiland recently put their Collaborative Spirit to work leading efforts crucial to the district’s Visioning for the Future work.

Recognition of Medical Partners: Memorial Hermann Hospital System, Spring Branch Community Health Center

Trustees were honored to recognize two district medical partners who, through their Collective Greatness, helped keep our community, students, staff and families safe and healthy throughout the past year.

Celebrated on April 26 were representatives from Memorial Hermann Hospital System and Spring Branch Community Health Center for their herculean efforts and dedicated outreach, as well as their long-time partnership and support.

While speaking about Memorial Hermann’s efforts, Superintendent Dr.  Jennifer Blaine highlighted the support the district received through resources, and communications tools for students, staff and community as well as vaccination opportunities for our educators.

“Memorial Hermann supported us in the development of the LearnSBISD Plan, including health and safety protocols that enabled us to successfully navigate this pandemic,” Blaine said. “Their Collaborative Spirit has taken this important partnership to the next level, enabling us to successfully bring 81 percent of students back on campus for in-person learning, and keep our schools open and operating safely.”

Long-time district partner Spring Branch Community Health Center (SBCHC) also played an integral part in LearnSBISD efforts.

As the 2020-21 school year began, SBCHC medical professionals provided Spanish language information sessions for SBISD families to raise awareness and understanding of COVID-19.

This spring, SBCHC worked with the district and our nurses to offer vaccination clinics for SBISD staff. Nearly 500 people were vaccinated over spring break as a result.

“We are grateful to Spring Branch Community Health Center for their dedicated service to our community,” Dr. Blaine said. “Thank you for your outreach and support of the health and wellness of our families and staff!”

Youth Art Month

Elementary school art award winners

Middle school art award winners

High school art award winners


Spring Branch ISD has a long and proud history of achievement in the arts. In recognition of Youth Art Month in March, Trustees highlighted some of the significant honors that our talented art students have recently earned through various contests and competitions. These students, along with their teachers, were recognized at the April 26 regular meeting.

View the gallery of award-winning pieces.

TASB Student Video Contest: Spring Forest Middle School

Spring Forest Middle School recently was named a first-place winner of the biennial Student Video Contest sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) – one of only three first-place winners statewide.

During the meeting, trustees, along with TASB representative Rose Avalos, honored Spring Forest team sponsor Faralynn Rasberry, principal Curtis George, and the winning team of students Orion Bui, Elliot Harlan, Allison Hibbetts, Braden Vanderschoor and Rafe Williams.

The winning team was also presented with a $5,000 first-place prize check from TASB.

Read more about the contest and view SFMS’s winning submission.

Science & Engineering Fair Award Winners

The Science & Engineering Fair of Houston serves as the regional fair for all junior and senior high school students in Harris County and 22 surrounding counties. The educational activities sponsored by the fair complement the rapidly growing demand for students with technical skills.

Secondary students from the Spring Branch Academic Institute (SBAI) competed in this year's virtual event, which comprised of 17 school districts, with a total of 696 students participating and 616 projects judged.

SBAI students were led by Dr. Mohammad Haidar, who was named the 2020 Science & Engineering Fair Teacher of the Year winner in the junior division.

Communications Team TSPRA Awards

The SBISD Communications and Community Engagement Division won nine separate awards during the recent annual meeting of the Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA).

These awards recognize excellence in the communications field during the 2019-2020 school year and included five Gold Stars and two Silver Stars, as well as two prestigious Best of Category awards in areas of competition involving print, electronic and visual media.

Communications team members during the 2019-2020 school year included Steve Brunsman (now retired), Melissa Wiland, Lexi Marshall, Chris Elliott, Kristen Watts Cain, Becky Wuerth and Paul Bryant.

NCPP’s Above and Beyond Award: Rick Gay

National Cooperative Procurement Partners (NCPP) works to support public procurement agencies and serves as the go-to association for cooperative procurement.

In 2021, the organization created a new award for public procurement professionals who have gone "Above and Beyond" in the past year. SBISD Procurement Services Director Richard “Rick” Gay was named one of 15 national winners – a true honor.