Spring Branch ISD Featured News

Spring Branch ISD students announced as National Merit Semifinalists and other College Board honors

Nineteen seniors from Spring Branch ISD high schools were named as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation

Students become eligible for this national scholarship program when they take the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as juniors. Semifinalists represent less than 1 percent of the high school graduating class in Texas and rank as the nation’s highest scoring test takers.

This year’s Spring Branch ISD semifinalists are from Memorial High School (MHS), Spring Branch Academic Institute (SBAI), Stratford High School (SHS), and Westchester Academy for International Studies (WAIS). These semifinalists now have an opportunity to qualify for National Merit Finalist awards, which will be announced in February 2022.

2021-2022 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists 

  • Angela Alvarado (WAIS)
  • Sophie Czelusta (MHS)
  • Cameron Donley (SHS)
  • Victoria Gong (MHS)
  • Megan Guy (SHS)
  • Ahmad Hadidi (MHS)
  • Stephen Kang (MHS)
  • Avantika Matele (MHS)
  • Delaney Polocheck (MHS)
  • Chloe Pruett (MHS)
  • Joowon Seok (MHS)
  • Lena Sugg (MHS)
  • Lane VanderVoort (MHS)
  • Lauren Wall (MHS)
  • Caden Wang (SHS)
  • John Weatherly III (SHS)
  • Daniel Xu (MHS)
  • Alex Yoon (MHS)
  • Alex Zhang (SBAI)

Additionally, eight SBISD students were named finalists in the annual National Hispanic Recognition Program. To earn this recognition, students must be at least one-quarter of Hispanic/Latino descent, attain a high-performance level on the PSAT, and have a GPA of 3.0 or higher at the end of their junior year. Only 5,000 students nationally earn this recognition each year.

2021-2022 National Hispanic Recognition Scholars

From Northbrook High School: Celeste Cabrales and Edwyn Gonzalez Mendoza.

From Yes Prep at Northbrook High School: Luis Calderon, Daira Calixto, Brithany Flores, Eduardo Lopez, Emily Romero, and Jennifer Silva.

Spring Branch ISD students also are represented in three other College Board National Recognition Programs, all of which create pathways to college for underrepresented students by awarding them academic honors and connecting them with universities across the country.

Students with a 3.5 GPA or higher who identify as African American or Black, Hispanic American or Latino, or Indigenous and meet one of the following requirements qualify for national recognition from the College Board: 

  • Take the PSAT 10 in the spring of their sophomore year and score in the top 10 percent in their state
  • Take the PSAT/NMSQT in the fall of their junior year and score in the top 10 percent in their state
  • Earn a score of three or higher on two or more AP exams by their junior year 

Congratulations to the 42 juniors and seniors from Memorial High School who have achieved the following recognitions:

African American Designated Scholars:

  • Treasure Mulkey
  • Lotachuckwu Nwaukwa

Indigenous Designated Scholars:

  • Alec Ruiz
  • Marshall Williams

Hispanic/Latino Designated Scholars:

  • Isabel Acevedo
  • Jasmine Aguilar
  • Wyatt Behan
  • Garrett Blanton
  • Alexander Canedo
  • Aleksy Cavazos
  • Daniela Contreras
  • Mitchell DeAyala
  • Natalia Diaz
  • Paula Diaz Faccini
  • Marco Ferrier
  • Patricia Freytes
  • Jordan Heath
  • Isabel Heckler
  • Marissa Hines
  • Caroline Holub
  • Leila Ibrahim
  • Isabel Jakobsen
  • Dylan Jones
  • Alexander Kelly
  • Gabriela Lyle
  • Mia Mancheski
  • Isabella Mendoza
  • Oscar Morales
  • Antonio Noyola
  • Madelyn Olive
  • Cecilia Rizo-Patron
  • Alec Ruiz
  • Jeronimo Ruiz-Ocampo
  • Ashley Salazar-Martinez
  • Ethan Schutt
  • Anissa Settipalli
  • Madeline Stieglitz
  • Morgan Valdivieso
  • Michelle Venegas Torres
  • Julia Williams
  • Caroline Zaleski
  • Ryan Zaragoza

Student honorees and their families will be recognized on Monday, October 18 at the regular monthly meeting of the Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees.